top of page
  • Natasha Anne Kelleher

NURSING THE INFLICTED



Every morning I leave my bed 

To go to a vocational job 

Where others fear and dare not tread

I travel to work on an almost empty bus

My face covered in a protective mask

Hiding my identity and profession 

The NHS's gargantuan task


My resolve in my mind so determined  Facing the life-threatening disease  To protect staff whilst still  Saving innocents from viral death We pray the curve in its trail is spliced Hoping to reduce mortality's last breath  While all others imposed to stay at home  Fearing a virus they dread and could spread To avoid families having to mourn and grieve Sadness for those who have tragically succumbed To the deadly double named virus  Corona & Covid-19  We are shocked and numbed Fellow doctors and nurses tend  To those who can scarcely breath We hope in our hearts that medication And God gives them their life saving reprieve The stress to staff is now showing  Its slowly creeping toll On their shoulders they  Feel the catastrophe's heavy woe  Each night when I lay down my weary head I am thankful I have done my best Experiencing such a challenging test May God bless and rejuvenate me  During my much earned sleep To rise valiantly tomorrow To face once again difficulties which in This world is now perilously steeped


Copyright Natasha Anne Kelleher May 2020




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page